Pendleton Upset

Mark Bradley reports that Terry Pendleton was a little upset that Frenchy went to Rangers hitting coach Rudy Jaramillo over the winter.

Said Pendleton: “Honestly? My pride gets in the way. I asked Jeff, ‘Why didn’t you come to me?’ Obviously he felt the need to go elsewhere. It’s his winter. [But] it bugged me at first. Not hearing it from him, that got me more than anything. I told him, ‘I thought our relationship was better than that.’ ”

Asked if he feels Pendleton is a good hitting coach, Francoeur said: “Absolutely.” So why head for Texas? “Sometimes you’ve got to work something out. Even with Rudy, the final week I was there I was changing something else. Guys do that all the time. Chipper goes to his dad. Mac [Brian McCann] goes to his dad.”

Has his work with Jaramillo damaged his relationship with Pendleton? Francoeur: “We’ve talked about it. We’re working together now. I really can’t say much. It is what it is.”

Francoeur is hitting .251 with 4 HR, 25 RBI, 6 BB and 31 strikeouts in 199 at-bats.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

